FB Giveaway: The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

29 Jul 2015


In case you missed it, our blog is giving away THREE e-copies of The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar!! It was a complete winner and 6 stars for Allison who read an ARC copy. Fans of the dark romance will LOVE this one! 

Winners will be announced and gifted on release day, 4th August 2015!

Head on over to our Facebook page to join!

Book Review: To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

26 Jul 2015

Book Title: To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Series: To All the Boys I've Loved Before #1
Release Date: April 15th, 2014
Genres: Young Adult Romance
Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.


ARC Review: Loving the White Liar by Kate Stewart

25 Jul 2015

Book Title: Loving the White Liar
Author: Kate Stewart
Series: Standalone
Release Date: July 19th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
I met my true love when I was twenty-seven. He was handsome, charming, witty, and irresistible. Jayden Monroe came along when I was struggling with indecision and made things simple, turned monochrome into vivid color, and forever altered my perspective on life.

I was not naive enough to believe in happily ever after, but with Jayden, it seemed possible . . . until I realized something wasn’t quite right.

You see, I met a man who would be anyone I needed him to be, and after I found out that fact, I knew it would be impossible to walk away. His disorder, however, would change everything I ever thought about love and what it truly meant to accept someone for who they are.

This is not my sob story; this is his success story.

This is an ADHD love story and is for mature audiences only. This book contains explicit sex and strong language.



ARC Review: Playing with Trouble by Chanel Cleeton

20 Jul 2015

Book Title: Playing with Trouble
Author: Chanel Cleeton
Series: Capital Confessions #2
Release Date: July 21st, 2015
Genres: Political Romance
The author of Flirting with Scandal presents her second book in a sexy contemporary romance series about three sisters in a powerful political family, the scandals that threaten to destroy them, and the passion that drives them…

The daughter of one of the Senate's most powerful figures, Blair Reynolds was ready to become the ultimate political wife—until she caught her fiancé cheating on her wedding day. Law school is a fresh start, her shot at putting the pieces of her life back together. That’s the plan, at least. Until trouble comes in the form of her Torts professor, the man whose arrogance infuriates her in class but haunts her private fantasies.

Graydon Canter had a fortune and a place on all the hottest "Thirty under Thirty” lists, until a series of personal missteps nearly destroyed his career. A year teaching at a D.C. law school is just the break he needs to get his life back in order, as long as nothing—and no one—trips him up.

When Blair and Gray are forced to work together, their explosive attraction becomes impossible to resist. But Gray’s demons have drawn him dangerously close to the edge, and Blair has spent her life playing by the rules. Will she break them for a shot at love?



Book Review: The Black Wolf by J.A. Redmerski

19 Jul 2015

Book Title: The Black Wolf
Author: J.A. Redmerski
Series: In The Company of Killers #5
Release Date: July 1st, 2015
Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Suspense Romance
Since devastating secrets were uncovered by Nora Kessler, Niklas Fleischer and Victor Faust have been divided as business partners and brothers. But ultimately Niklas is persuaded to lead a mission to Italy, and he sees it as an opportunity to set in motion forgiveness—or retribution—for his brother’s betrayal.

The mission: play the role of a wealthy German investor and kidnap a beautiful, notorious madam named Francesca Moretti. No stranger to these types of roles, Niklas is the best man for the job, but this time the risks will be much greater as he will not be doing it alone. Izabel Seyfried, still fresh out of a life of imprisonment and sex slavery, could be negatively affected by the things she will see in Moretti’s mansion, and Niklas must keep her in line so she does not blow their cover and get them killed.

But Niklas isn’t the only one who must play a role—Nora takes on the humiliating task of playing Niklas’s slave, and Izabel must play the role of his lover.

On one hand, Niklas couldn’t be enjoying himself more. On the other hand, the emotions that continue to rage inside of him may be too much for him to control, and it may be Niklas—not Izabel—who needs to be kept in line. He cannot forget what Victor has done, and this mission may just be the beginning of his downward spiral.

Can the blood bond that Niklas and Victor share as brothers be stronger than resentment? Or will vengeance dig the blade so deep that their bond be eternally severed?



(ARC Review + Giveaway): King of Hearts by LH Cosway

17 Jul 2015

Book Title: King of Hearts
Author: L.H. Cosway
Series: Hearts #3
Release Date: July 16th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Welcome to the City, London’s most prestigious square mile, where finance reigns and Oliver King is a rising prince.

I used to rule the world.

There might be wolves on Wall Street, but there were crocodiles in Canary Wharf. Some of us craved money. Some of us craved power.

I liked money, and power had its advantages, but what I really wanted was to excel, to surpass the men who came before me. I never cared much for love and romance until I met Alexis.

I could feel it the very moment she walked into the interview, with her outspoken charm and vivacious personality. She cast all the others in shadow, made me laugh when life held no humour. Our friendship should have remained professional, but it wasn’t long before the lines started to blur.

You know what they say about the best laid plans of mice and men? Well, I never foresaw where my plans would lead, and only in my darkest hour did I finally see the light…

You can have all the money and prestige in the world and still be the poorest man alive. And love, well, I hate to use a tired old cliché, but love can be the thing that truly sets you free.



ARC Review: Maybe In Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Book Title: Maybe in Another Life
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Series: Standalone
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: Chick Lit, Women's Fiction
From the acclaimed author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Do comes a breathtaking new novel about a young woman whose fate hinges on the choice she makes after bumping into an old flame; in alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.

At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college. On the heels of leaving yet another city, Hannah moves back to her hometown of Los Angeles and takes up residence in her best friend Gabby’s guestroom. Shortly after getting back to town, Hannah goes out to a bar one night with Gabby and meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan.

Just after midnight, Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. A moment later, Ethan offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay. Hannah hesitates. What happens if she leaves with Gabby? What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into radically different stories with large-scale consequences for Hannah, as well as the people around her. As the two alternate realities run their course, Maybe in Another Life raises questions about fate and true love: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps, most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.


(ARC Review + Giveaway): Ricochet by Keri Lake

14 Jul 2015

Book Title: Ricochet
Author: Keri Lake
Series: Standalone
Release Date: July 9th, 2015
Genres: Mystery/Thriller, Dark Romance
The only sure way to destroy a man is to take what he cannot live without.

Three years ago, I had everything.

A beautiful wife. A son. A reason for living.

Until a ruthless task force, assembled under Mayor Michael Culling, with a brutal strategy to make the streets of Detroit ‘safe’, ripped away everything I loved in a deadly hunt called The Culling.

They tried to kill me, too. I wish they had. Now I'm cursed by the memories of that night, and the words I whispered to my dying wife.

A promise—to avenge the wrong and set it right.

I’m no longer Nick Ryder. I’m a masked vigilante. Faceless. Loveless. Fearless. A man with nothing left to lose—one who's seen the dark and violent truth behind the city’s flawless veneer.

Michael Culling doesn’t know who I am. Or what I want. All he knows is that I’ve kidnapped his beautiful wife.

An eye for an eye—isn’t that how the saying goes? And Aubree Culling is the perfect pawn to destroy him.

If she doesn’t destroy me first.



(ARC Review + Giveaway): Commanded by Stacey Kennedy

Book Title: Commanded
Author: Stacey Kennedy
Series: Club Sin #6
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: Erotica Romance
A dedicated cop, Sawyer Quinn blows off steam by immersing himself in his role as a Master at the hottest club in Las Vegas. But when Sawyer goes after the perp who brutally beat his sister, he teams up with Chloe Nash, a sexy private investigator who awakens a sweet new need: to keep her to himself, away from the dungeon of Club Sin. Chloe is beautiful, smart, and too innocent for the BDSM lifestyle. Sawyer’s never wanted a woman like this before. Is her love worth swearing off the one thing that keeps him sane?

There’s something different about Sawyer: a commanding strength that pulls Chloe into a vortex of heady desire. But when she learns about his double life as a Dom, she’s shocked—and afraid she could never complete him. Then he saves her life, and just like that, Chloe knows she will be able to give him anything he desires. She is his—wherever and however he wants to take her.


(ARC Review + Giveaway): Fighting Shadows by Aly Martinez

10 Jul 2015

Book Title: Fighting Shadows
Author: Aly Martinez
Series: On The Ropes #2
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Fighter Romance
I come from a family of fighters. I always thought I’d follow in their shadows, becoming unstoppable in the ring. That changed the day I saved the life of a woman I loved, but could never have.

My brother hailed me as a hero, and my reward was a wheelchair.

Paralyzed, my life became an inescapable nightmare.

Until I met her.

Ash Mabie had a heart-stopping smile and a laugh that numbed the rage and resentment brewing inside of me. She showed me that even the darkest night still had stars, and it didn’t matter one bit that you had to lie in the weeds to see them.

I was a jaded asshole who fell for a girl with a knack for running away. I couldn’t even walk but I would have spent a lifetime chasing her.

Now, I’m on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life. Fighting the shadows of our past. Fighting to reclaim my future. Fighting for her.


ARC Review: Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

8 Jul 2015

Book Title: Ruin & Rule
Author: Pepper Winters
Series: Pure Corruption MC #1
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: Dark/Angst, MC Romance
"We met in a nightmare. The in-between world where time had no power over reason. We fell in love. We fell hard. But then we woke up. And it was over . . ."

She is a woman divided. Her past, present, and future are as twisted as the lies she's lived for the past eight years. Desperate to get the truth, she must turn to the one man who may also be her greatest enemy . . .

He is the president of Pure Corruption MC. A heartless biker and retribution-deliverer. He accepts no rules, obeys no one, and lives only to reap revenge on those who wronged him. And now he has stolen her, body and soul.

Can a woman plagued by mystery fall in love with the man who refuses to face the truth? And can a man drenched in darkness forgo his quest for vengeance-and finally find redemption?



(ARC Review + Giveaway): Unblocked: Episode Four by Marni Mann

7 Jul 2015

Book Title: Unblocked: Episode Four
Author: Marni Mann
Series: Timber Towers #4
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: Erotica Romance
Derek Block is ready to fight.

Frankie Jordan must make a decision.

Their pasts are demanding attention.

Confessing their truth may not be enough.

But can their intense passion sustain them?

This is Episode Four of the five-episode Timber Towers novella series.



(ARC Review + Giveaway): Gold by K.A. Linde

Book Title: Gold
Author: K.A. Linde
Series: All that Glitters #2
Release Date: July 7th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
The prey becomes the predator.

Love. That cursed four-letter word no longer belongs in Bryna’s vocabulary. The only four-letter word she knows now is gold.

…and fuck.

She’s well acquainted with that one. And that’s exactly what she plans to do. She’s no longer the golden girl, and when she meets a businessman who promises everything she could ever want from the arrangement, she intends to get her money’s worth.

Follow the conclusion to Bryna’s gold digging story in this scandalizing, duplicitous second book to the USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s All That Glitters series.



[Book Tag] Would You Rather..

4 Jul 2015

Woot woot! We've been tagged by one of our lovely book buddy 
and fellow blogger, Flo @ Coffee Addicts Books Blog! Thanks babe! ♥
It comprises of a few 'Would You Rather' questions about our reading preferences, 
so we put together a post with both of our answers!

★ The Questions ★

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?
Definitely standalones, I love starting a story and being able to get a proper resolution by the end of it. Trilogies are okay by me but it's usually the uncertainties of waiting time that scares me.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?
I hardly read any male authors except John Green who is my ABSOLUTE FAV. So I'll probably have to go with female authors as they tend to dominate the romance genre and do it well.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?
Amazon FTW! Also because Barnes & Noble is non-existent where I live, trust me it's depressing.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?
I'd say movies. Choosing TV shows is like asking me to choose between a standalone and trilogy/series; it could either break or make the series depending how well the series is being produced. I rather have a well-produced movie over a mediocre multi-episodes series ;)

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
I wish I could 7 books per week (a girl can dream lol!). But definitely 5 books per week. I can't imagine 5 pages per day, my body will go through withdrawals faster than you can say diarrhoea.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?
Professional reviewer. I tend to be more analytical (this is why Allison calls me the anal Asian) and I'm not creative enough with words to write anything more than a few chapters.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?
Librarian. Because there's a good chance I might meet an adorkable book nerd while at it. Because who doesn't?! :D

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?
Wait..is this some sort of a trick question? o.O As much as I'd rather read ONLY my favorite genre, I don't think I can survive without mixing up genres.

Would you rather only read e-books or physical books?
I'm a self-proclaimed paperback whore but I'd have to say e-books here! It's just more convenient and I could read anywhere, anytime and I would die without the highlighting function for my favorite quotes!

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?
ALWAYS prefer standalones if possible mainly because I'm impatient and like my book to go full circle with a resolution. I'm also old and forget plot within weeks of finishing &/or lose connection to the story/characters.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?
If I had to pick authors exclusively by gender, I'd pick female I guess. Though some of my favorite books were written by men. There's just more female authors out there for the genre I read.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?
Amazon all the way. Kindle owner.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?
If I had to choose: I prefer books made into movies though rarely do I read a book or series and find the movie hold a candle to it. Books are always better than the screen. Imagination is a wonderful thing and actors never quite measure up to the characters in my head.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
This bring my busiest time of year, five pages per day is much more doable than five books per week.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?
Professional reviewer for sure as even some reviews take so much time to compose- a book would be impossible.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?
Librarian. I could rec books without it appearing for profit but more due to pleasure and honesty

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?
I'd definitely rather read only my genre versus everything BUT. I just read my first non fiction, however, and plan to read one a month or two.

Would you rather only read e-books or physical books?
Ebooks. I'm spoiled by picking my favorite font, text size (old lady eyes) and light up display.... and I love the feature with the time left in book.

Who we're tagging?