Book Review: Before Jamaica Lane by Samantha Young

31 May 2015

Book Title: Before Jamaica Lane
Author: Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #3
Release Date: January 7th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance
One simple lesson in seduction between two friends can turn into so much more…

Despite her outgoing demeanor, Olivia is painfully insecure around the opposite sex—usually, she can’t get up the nerve to approach guys she’s interested in. But moving to Edinburgh has given her a new start, and, after she develops a crush on a sexy postgrad, she decides it’s time to push past her fears and go after what she wants.

Nate Sawyer is a gorgeous player who never commits, but to his close friends, he’s as loyal as they come. So when Olivia turns to him with her relationship woes, he offers to instruct her in the art of flirting and to help her become more sexually confident.

The friendly education in seduction soon grows into an intense and hot romance. But then Nate’s past and commitment issues rear their ugly heads, and Olivia is left broken-hearted. When Nate realizes he’s made the biggest mistake of his life, he will have to work harder than he ever has before to entice his best friend into falling back in love with him—or he may lose her forever…



Book Review: Fighting Silence by Aly Martinez

29 May 2015

Book Title: Fighting Silence
Author: Aly Martinez
Series: On The Ropes #1
Release Date: Feb 23rd, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Fighter Romance
Sound is an abstract concept for most people. We spend our lives blocking out the static in order to focus on what we believe is important. But what if, when the clarity fades into silence, it's the obscure background noise that you would give anything to hold on to?

I've always been a fighter. With parents who barely managed to stay out of jail and two little brothers who narrowly avoided foster care, I became skilled at dodging the punches life threw at me. Growing up, I didn’t have anything I could call my own, but from the moment I met Eliza Reynolds, she was always mine. I became utterly addicted to her and the escape from reality we provided each other. Throughout the years, she had boyfriends and I had girlfriends, but there wasn't a single night that I didn’t hear her voice.

You see, meeting the love of my life at age thirteen was never part of my plan. However, neither was gradually going deaf at the age of twenty-one.

They both happened anyway.

Now, I'm on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life. Fighting for my career. Fighting the impending silence. Fighting for her.

Every night, just before falling asleep, she sighs as a final conscious breath leaves her.

I think that's the sound I'll miss the most.



ARC Review: 21 Stolen Kisses by Lauren Blakely

Book Title: 21 Stolen Kisses
Author: Lauren Blakely
Series: Standalone
Release Date: May 26th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
When I first met him I resisted.
Like any forbidden love, I told myself he was a crush, and it would pass.
That was a lie. It never faded.

And I never expected he would fall for me just as hard.

There were so many reasons that should have kept us apart, least of all, the decade that separated us. Growing up in New York City, I learned early on that love is a double-edged sword. Love broke up my parents, love took away my friends, and love — the big, intense, never-been-like-this-before love — landed me in therapy. Now I’m heading to college, and it’s time to give love a clean slate again. But, can I really start over when he’s still in my life Because the one man I’ve always wanted, is also the only guy I absolutely can’t have…And he wants me just as fiercely.

Can I settle for anything less than the love of my life?



ARC Review: Flirting with Scandal by Chanel Cleeton

26 May 2015

Flirting with Scandal (Capital Confessions, #1)
Book Title: Flirting with Scandal
Author: Chanel Cleeton
Series: Capital Confessions #1
Release Date: May 19th, 2015
Genres: Political Romance
Jackie Gardner knows all about dirty little secrets. The illegitimate daughter of one of the most influential senators in Washington, D.C., she grew up surrounded by the scandals and shadows of politics. Now that she's landed an internship with a powerful political consulting firm, she's determined to launch her career and take this city by storm.

William Andrew Clayton was born for politics. He knows the drill: work hard, play discreetly, and at all costs, avoid scandal. At twenty-six, his campaign for the Virginia State Senate is the first step to cementing his future. It's time for him to settle down, to find the perfect political spouse. He needs a Jackie Kennedy, not a Marilyn...

When Jackie meets Will in the bar of the Hay-Adams Hotel, sparks fly. But the last thing Will needs is to be caught in a compromising position, and an affair with a political candidate could cost Jackie her career. When what began as one steamy night, becomes a passion neither one of them can walk way from, they must decide if what they have is really love, or just another dirty little secret...



ARC Review: Irrevocable by Shay Savage

Book Title: Irrevocable
Author: Shay Savage
Series: Evan Arden #5
Release Date: May 26th, 2015
Genres: Suspense/Thriller Romance
Have you ever made a mistake?
A big one?

I’m back in Chicago and back in business with my boss, Rinaldo Moretti. So much for my run at a normal life. There are some new faces in the organization, and someone’s been cooking the books. Personally? I think they’re after more than a just little cash. If I have any hopes of flushing out the traitor, I’m going to need to find a good hooker to help me sleep at night.

As the bodies pile up, I find solace in Alina. There’s something about her, something different. She understands me without asking a lot of questions. It’s as if she’s known me for years, yet we’ve only just met. If I weren’t so distracted by business, I’d try to figure out her story. She’s the only one keeping me grounded as my world spins out of control.

I’m going to lose the one man who has ever meant anything to me – the only man to ever call me son. I want to deny his request, but there is no avoiding what awaits me. I never wanted any of this, but I’m out of options, and time is running out.

Some choices have unforeseen consequences, and some choices are simply irrevocable.



(ARC Review + Giveaway): Overwhelmed by You by Nashoda Rose

19 May 2015

Book Title: Overwhelmed by You
Author: Nashoda Rose
Series: Tear Asunder #2
Release Date: May 25th, 2014
Genres: Dark Romance, Rockstar
Love is ugly and secrets will destroy you.

I don’t beg.
I don’t cry.
And I don’t give second chances.

Ream, the lead guitarist of the rock band Tear Asunder, deserves a gold medal for best dick move ever when he ran the moment he discovered my secret after two days of hot sex. Then he brings some chick to my coming home party from the hospital—after being shot. I hate him.

Until …

Ream’s six foot two frame unfolds out of the car after being gone on tour for eight months. I stared. And in my defense, any girl would stare. It would almost be rude not to because Ream was the type of guy who stood out. Not because he was loud and obnoxious. No, it was because he was the complete opposite. Subtle and dangerously quiet. If he spoke, you’d better hope he liked you because otherwise you’d be falling at his feet begging for mercy. Except me … I don’t beg—ever. But when our eyes locked, it was Ream’s steady confidence that had my nerves shooting off like jet sprinklers.


Ream told me he didn’t need a second chance because he was still working on his first.


Sex is ugly. It’s using someone for your own narcissistic pleasure. I did it, but hated it—until her. She was unfuckinexpected. Then I had to wreck our beginning with my screwed up past. I don’t deserve her, but I’m selfish and I’m taking her anyway. This is who I am and it’s too late to change me.



(ARC Review + Giveaway): Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters

18 May 2015

Book Title: Tears of Tess
Author: Pepper Winters
Series: Monsters in the Dark #1
Release Date: August 13th, 2013
Genres: Dark Romance, BDSM, Erotica
“My life was complete. Happy, content, everything neat and perfect.
Then it all changed.
I was sold.

Tess Snow has everything she ever wanted: one more semester before a career in property development, a loving boyfriend, and a future dazzling bright with possibility.

For their two year anniversary, Brax surprises Tess with a romantic trip to Mexico. Sandy beaches, delicious cocktails, and soul-connecting sex set the mood for a wonderful holiday. With a full heart, and looking forward to a passion filled week, Tess is on top of the world.

But lusty paradise is shattered.

Kidnapped. Drugged. Stolen. Tess is forced into a world full of darkness and terror.

Captive and alone with no savior, no lover, no faith, no future, Tess evolves from terrified girl to fierce fighter. But no matter her strength, it can’t save her from the horror of being sold.

Can Brax find Tess before she’s broken and ruined, or will Tess’s new owner change her life forever?

A New Adult Dark Contemporary Romance, not suitable for people sensitive to grief, slavery, and nonconsensual sex. A story about finding love in the strangest of places, a will of iron that grows from necessity, and forgiveness that may not be enough.



(ARC Review + Giveaway): ShutterGirl by CD Reiss

Book Title: ShutterGirl
Author: CD Reiss
Series: Standalone
Release Date: May 20th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
ONE movie star on the cusp of greatness
ONE broken girl who touched him
TEN years to forget her
A MILLION stories in Hollywood
I am not hurt.

I don’t need a second chance with him, or a life I thought I had.

While he was out forgetting me to become a movie star, I was building a career out of nothing. A career as a paparazzi, but a career. For a foster kid who bounced around every home in Los Angeles, that wasn’t easy.

This camera is all I have.

He’s nothing to me. Every time I take his picture and sell it, I remind myself that I did it all without him or his approval, his cinnamon smell or his clear green eyes. He lights up the screen like a celestial body, but he’s nothing but a paycheck to me.

He can throw my camera off a balcony, and nothing has to change. We can stay king and queen of the same city, and different worlds.

Except this is Hollywood, and here, anything can happen.



(ARC Review + Giveway) Elements of Chemistry #3: Capture by Penny Reid

Book Title: Capture
Author: Penny Reid
Series: Elements of Chemistry #3
Release Date: May 16th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, College Romance, Humor
Elements of Chemistry: CAPTURE is the third part in a three part series; it is 70k words.

Part 1 (ATTRACTION) will be released April 9, 2015.
Part 2 (HEAT) will be released April 30, 2015.
Part 3 (CAPTURE) will be released May 16, 2015.



ARC Review: Hindrance (Excess #3) by Angelica Chase

15 May 2015

Book Title: Hindrance
Author: Angelica Chase
Series: The Excess Series #3
Release Date: May 15h, 2015
Genres: Romance: Contemporary/Erotica
Storms are a funny thing. Most people ignore the warning signs: a strong gust of wind, a lightning strike on the horizon, the distant rumble of thunder.

My head and heart had been at odds for the last two years because of Devin McIntyre, and my relationship with Aiden had only complicated matters. Still, I craved both men. Just when I thought the decision was taken from me, a choice between the two became inevitable. The two men I had attached myself to emotionally and physically had already told me everything I needed to know.

Although the dark clouds were gathering overhead, I ignored the lightning, played deaf to the thunder, and let the tempest push me toward them both. I ended up in a whirlwind of secrets, a vortex of deception and depravity I never imagined possible. I was drowning again, but this time … this time I would be ready.

Or so I thought.

Nothing could have prepared me for the coming storm.


ARC Review + Giveaway: Unblocked: Episode Three by Marni Mann

14 May 2015

Book Title: Unblocked: Episode Three
Author: Marni Mann
Series: Timber Towers #3
Release Date: May 12th, 2015
Genres: Erotica Romance
Derek Block confronts his past. Frankie Jordan's past pursues her. Secrets threaten to keep them apart. They want to let go of each other, but can’t. Their passion is too hot to resist. Things are scorching as real estate gets real… This is Episode Three of the five-episode Timber Towers novella series.



Blog Tour (Excerpt + Giveaway) - Black Rainbow by JJ McAvoy

11 May 2015

Book Title: Black Rainbow
Author: JJ McAvoy
Series: Standalone
Release Date: May 15th, 2015
Genres: Erotica, Contemporary Romance, Student/Teacher
After an erotic one-week fling with a musician she meets in a bar, Thea Cunning never expects to see Levi Black again. Then Monday morning comes around, and she discovers that her former lover is not only her professor, but he’s also one of the top criminal lawyers in the state of Massachusetts.

With everyone in class vying to be one of the twelve disciples—a group of twelve students that Professor Black takes under his wing—tensions run high. Thea considers dropping his class, given their passionate week together and their undeniable chemistry. After all, there are other (less infuriatingly sexy) law professors on campus.

But to accomplish her goal and get her father out of prison, Thea knows she needs to learn under the best of the best—and that’s Levi Black.

But can she learn under the best, without being under the best?


All too soon, class was over, and as people left, I found myself unable to move. There was so much that I wanted to say to him.

I stood up, taking a deep breath and hoping to stir up the courage to speak to him, when all of sudden, he walked right past me as if I wasn’t there.


“It’s Professor Black, and class is over. If you wish to speak to me any time after class you’ll have to call the office and make an appointment. Good day, Ms. Cunning,” he replied, already out the door.

“Asshole,” I murmured under my breath.

But what did I expect? Were we just supposed to laugh it off and pretend like nothing had happened and that everything was okay?”



J. J. McAvoy first started working on Ruthless People during a Morality and Ethics lecture her freshman year of college. X number of years later, she is an insomniac who has changed her major three times, and is a master in the art of procrastination. If you ask her why she began writing, she will simply tell you “They wanted to get their story out.”
She is currently working on her next novel . . . so please bug her on Twitter @JJMcAvoy
Website • Blog • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads


ARC Review: Unblocked: Episode One by Marni Mann

Book Title: Unblocked: Episode One
Author: Marni Mann
Series: Timber Towers #1
Release Date: March 10th, 2015
Genres: Erotica Romance
Derek Block seeks revenge. Frankie Jordan seeks professional dominance. He wants her, she wants him. Lines that can't cross begin to blur. Things start heating up as real estate gets real…

This is the first episode of a five-episode novella series.



Book Review: Sincerely, Carter by Whitney Gracia Williams

9 May 2015

Book Title: Sincerely, Carter
Author: Whitney Gracia Williams
Series: Standalone
Release Date: April 29th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Just friends. We’re just friends. No, really. She’s just my best friend...

Arizona Turner has been my best friend since fourth grade, even when we “hated” each other. We’ve been there for one another through first kisses, first “times,” and we’ve been each other’s constant when good relationships turned bad. (We even went to colleges that were minutes away from each other…)

Throughout the years, and despite what anyone says, we’ve never crossed the line.

Never thought about it. Never wanted to.

Until one night changed everything. At least, it should’ve ...

Just friends. We’re just friends. I’m only saying this until I figure out if she’s still “just” my best friend..


(ARC Review + Giveway) Elements of Chemistry #2: Heat by Penny Reid

6 May 2015

Book Title: Heat
Author: Penny Reid
Series: Elements of Chemistry #2
Release Date: April 24th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, College Romance, Humor
Four days left.
Private beach (…and boat). Not so invisible girl. And maybe less of a jerk-faced bully than originally thought. What’s the worst (or the best) that could happen?

Kaitlyn is finding life outside of the science cabinet of obscurity to be quite illuminating …and so are her pants. When things heat up between Kaitlyn Parker and Martin—previously known as the jerk-faced bully—Sandeke, she places her trust in the one person she never thought capable of earning it, let alone keeping it safe. Fortunately or unfortunately for Kaitlyn, where she gives her trust she can’t help but also give her heart.

But how will the world beyond the sanctuary of their newfound connection react to their relationship? Soon senators, chinless billionaires, and elements beyond Martin and Kaitlyn’s control want to weigh in on the young couple’s future.

Navigating the chaotic inferno of new love might be more than Kaitlyn bargained for, and much, much more than her trust—or her heart—can handle.